Cornet high register

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by AvocatDuDiable, Oct 14, 2013.

1. AvocatDuDiable

AvocatDuDiable New Member

Evening all.

I'm 20 and play Bb cornet. Having just been promoted to the front row at band (hold your applause please!) I could do with improving the old high register. At the moment my lip goes very quickly and I'd rather not end every rehearsal with it hanging by a thread.

The question has no doubt been asked a hundred times but... what sort of exercises should I do to hit those high notes every time and improve my stamina?

:cool:

2. stevetrom

stevetrom Well-Known Member

as a bass trom player I am, of course, an expert on the upper register.

Ok maybe not but I do think it is all in the head, you must hear the note in your head before you play it, don't count the letter lines!

I'm no expert but how about playing hymn tunes up an octave?, Be selective of course and maybe only play 1 or 2 lines, but get used to how it sounds, and feels, to play Iin a new range

3. Laserbeam bass

Laserbeam bass Active Member

I have often heard that playing long low notes before attempting to increase the upper register is generally a good way start. I am sure there is a much better authority than me that will either prove, or disprove this, or come up with other suggestions.

4. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

5. ploughboy

ploughboy Active Member

Yes working on your lower register - pedal notes and below bottom C will help higher up - If you learn to control your embouchure at it's loosest then when it's at it's tightest you will find the control easier. I also agree with Hymn 8ve up. . It takes time too, don't get downhearted, it'll come with practice, be careful not to start changing too much in order to get the high notes. Ask your tutor, and if you dont' have one invest a few quid in a good local tutor and have a few 'coaching' sessions to make sure you're not doing any damage to your embouchure too!

6. Andrew Norman