Cornet Buying Advice

Discussion in ' User Reviews' started by Andy Pulford, Dec 20, 2007.

1. Andy Pulford

Andy Pulford New Member

I started playing 3 years ago after a break of 22 years. I used to play trumpet and long model Bach Strad cornet. I have settled on brass band and am now practising seriously again. I now want to try and find a cornet to suit but I want to have an extended trial before committing to buy. I bought my Bach's on the basis of a short blow. I loved the cornet but didn't really get on with the trumpet and don't want to make the same mistake again. How do people go about checking instruments out before parting with hard earned cash. I like the sound of the York Eminence and the Prestige.
  2. Mesmerist

Mesmerist Well-Known Member

Why don`t you have a chat with Gary Bond at Normans? He is very knowledgable and also an extremely helpful genuinely nice man. I had a xeno cornet bought from there before moving back onto flugel (Conn) and it is lovely.
    Good luck and enjoy your banding. X
  3. Andy Pulford

Andy Pulford New Member

Thanks for that Mesmerist I will give Gary a call.
  4. Happyon2nd

Happyon2nd New Member

I came back to playing after a 7 year break - had always played Sovereigns but found the (then ) recently intrduced Yamaha Maestro the best I'd ever played. The later xeno is supposed to be better - not that much better in my opinion but they're both great.I wouldn't part with any cash till you've played both.
    Good luck in your search.
  5. Jasper

Jasper Member

Just like you (spookily) I started playing again about 2.5 years ago after a short 22 year break !
    I still consider that I am trying to get my lip back in...and slowly getting there.