COPYRIGHT-'tis a puzzlement

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by TIMBONE, Nov 4, 2003.

1. TIMBONE

TIMBONE Active Member

I have been composing and arranging music for over 30 years, I am unpublished, however, over the years I have done a lot of 'one off' commisions, which has included broadcasts and recordings. I feel it may be useful to give a 'laymans' guide to copyright, this may explain some of the 'puzzlements'.

Here are some of my experiences, which I will categorise.

BROADCASTING

I provided the music for a half hour radio programme, this included arrangments of copyright material for chamber orchestra and choir. My fee was a one off payment, the producer of the programme dealt with the returns to any composers, every time the programme was broadcast, the composer would receive royalties.

RECORDING

I arranged a song from a musical for symphony orchestra and chorus. This was for a concert in Birmingham, which was recorded live. My arrangment was included on the record. HOWEVER, although the composer received royalties from each copy sold, I only received my one off payment.

COMMISIONS

I did several arrangments for a male voice choir. I notified the publisher of each piece, sent them the arrangment, which was stamped and returned. The provision was that it was for the sole use of that particular choir. Again, my fee was a one off payment, I was only the arranger, (unpublished), the composer would of course be entitled to royalties for any public performance.

I would like to attempt to answer a question that arrises time and time again. There is no law against 'doing things' with copyright music in the privacy of your own home. You can sing your favourite Robbie Williams song, play and record "Harry Potter" on your 'mega-mix state of the art home recording console', or arrange your favourite Atomic Kitten for balalaika and hand bells, IT IS WHEN YOU WANT TO PUT IT IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN that the legalities begin.