Copyright - filming performances

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by tinytimp, Mar 5, 2008.

1. tinytimp

tinytimp Member

I was hoping some of you knowledgable people out there in tMP land may be able to help me with this, I still can't seem to navigate my way around the PRS website yet...

I'm studying for an MBA in Arts Management, and for one of this term's modules I'm intending to film my band in preparation for the Regionals, and hopefully at the contest as well (if I can find someone else to film as I'm playing!) What are the copyright issues involved when filming? The piece (Festival Music) is still in copyright, but are the rules different for filming to those for audio recording? And do they still apply when the finished product will be used primarily for educational purposes?

2. KMJ Recordings

KMJ Recordings Supporting Member

What exactly do you mean by 'primarily educational'?

This page is the MCPS-PRS Alliance page that covers educational use products. You'll note that the use of music in such things is on an individually negotiated basis (although the bias on the site is towards the use of production music or commercially available material rather than recording live performances). If you're intending selling the product it might be covered by the AVP.

That said, the agreement can differ depending on the primary content of the material - it's best to give them a ring (020 8378 7500)

Also bear in mind that you'll need the written permission of the venue and contest organisers to be able to video anything.

3. andywooler

andywooler Supporting Member

And the people you are filming?

4. KMJ Recordings

Yep - sorry missed that out.

Performer's Rights - just the 1st page from Google...there are lots ;)

The discussion on things like this has been had before somewhere - things like whether or not performer's permission is granted implicitly on entry form submission for filming then selling DVDs of entertainment contests and the like...