Conducting courses?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by The Cornet King, Apr 26, 2004.

1. The Cornet King

The Cornet King Active Member

Hello good people. :D

I have recently been asked to conduct my bands junior band. Now i have an acceptable knowledge of music theory, the workings of a brass band etc, can read a score, however i have no conducting experience whatsoever, even though i think i could do a half decent job!

So just wondering if anyone knows of any summer conducting courses/masterclasses. If not i ask you conductors out there to pass on some useful hints and tips. :D :D

Cheers in advance. :p
  2. Di B

Di B Member

After taking this job on for my band last August I know the situation you are faced with!!!

A few things I have learnt if it helps....

Be over enthisiastic and be prepared to have a giggle with the juniors. It's amazing how much difference this makes to their opinion of the rehearsal even if you did mess up! :lol:

Get the first few pieces of music you are going to go through and study them at home. Knowing your music is always important, but to do this when starting out gives you more confidence - read the music and look for the obvious slips that will happen (ie dynamic changes, accompanying a solos loud, not together on quavers, all basic stuff) This will also show the band that you know what you are doing even though you don't! :wink:

Know your band. One pitfall I fell foul of is that not only do you need to address children differently depending on their age they will also react differently. Are they adults, teenagers or 5 year olds? Think of basic language you can use to emphasise what you want from them.... staccato might not work but really really short will! You will understand individual personalities the more you settle in and then you can interact more with people from thereon.

Give the kids as much respect as you would an adult. They are little people after all.