composer seeking residency with solid band

Discussion in 'Recruitment Corner' started by j_aaron_stanley, Apr 15, 2005.

1. Hello, Everyone:

I hope I'm posting in the right place! It appears everyone here is recruiting individual players, but I want to recruit a whole band! Allow me to begin by introducing myself, since I'm a brand new member. My name is J. Aaron Stanley, and I'm an American composer living in L.A. There aren't many brass bands out here, and fewer really good ones, so it's difficult for me to hear my stuff played. Some of my music can be quite difficult, though nothing, I'm sure, that many UK bands can't handle. ;) For more information on what I'm looking for, click here. Anyone can view and hear Scorch demos of all my currently available brass band works on my website at If you think my music might be a good match for your band, please speak with your music director about taking me on as a resident. I'm not seeking monetary compensation, merely a commitment to play, perform, and record my music when appropriate.

Thank you,
    J. Aaron Stanley

(P.S. You guys can just call me "Aaron!")
  2. composer-in-residence for Broxburn & Livingston

I would just like to announce that I've been accepted as the composer-in-residence for the Broxburn & Livingston Band in Scotland. Their conductor, Mark Bell, the Band Committee, and I are excited about the arrangement, and I look forward to a fruitful collaboration! The band is interested in casting themselves as a progressive and forward thinking band (appropriate given their recent merger and new conductor) and I believe that will make us a good match!