Comeback Player Stories?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Gnats Crotchet, Aug 2, 2011.

1. Hi All,

A couple of months ago I started playing cornet again after a gap of 27 years.
    My progress is best described as two steps forward, then one and a half steps back.
    My lip and face muscles seem to be saying to me "You want us to do WHAT? Form into an efficient embouchure which allows you to play consistently in all registers, with flexibility and a good tone? After 27 years on holiday? Are you INSANE Watkins?"​

I was wondering if anyone on this forum has returned to brass playing after a very long lay-off, and how long it took you to reach your former standard of playing, if at all. Or maybe you have surpassed your previous level and are now playing better than ever?

I am not playing with a band at the moment due to very long commuting hours, so I am just practising when I can. On weekdays this involves sitting in my car at lunchtime blowing long tones and lip slurs into a practice mute with headphones - not ideal, but as least it shows some dedication to getting my 'lip' back! It would be great to hear from any "comeback" players with a success story!

Regards

Huw Watkins

2. John_D

John_D Member

I had a lay-off of around 18/20 years before returning around 4 years ago. How long did it take me to get back to the standard I used to be? I'll let you know when I get there :). Just enjoying it at present.

3. JonnySop

JonnySop New Member

I had a lay off of roughly 6 years, I made the mistake of jumping straight back onto the sop, after 3months of realising this was a crazy idea, i switched back to Bb and have been back playing about 1 1/2 years now. I have been practising really hard and have to say i am close to playing as well as i ever have.

4. BoBo

BoBo Member