Championship Manager!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by johnflugel, Jan 20, 2004.

1. johnflugel

johnflugel Active Member

This new topic was inspired by Dave Payn's recent football quiz.

First of all, can I say that I am by no means a computer person. I am not good at games, spreadsheets, downloads....infact my eleven year old sis put's me to shame. I even emailed Keppler to put my picture in my profile because I am that naff :oops:

I have however, like many, developed an unhealthy obsession with Championship manager. I think every bloke in the world seems to play this game to varying degrees of success I might add :lol:

For your amusement, I have just been sacked as manager of Nottingham Forest. After two seasons of narrowly missing the play offs (three points away) and in my third season was 21st by December and the supporters had formed a protest group to get me out...nice!

I feel like Peter Reid....is anyone actually any good at this game? What are your secrets? Any tales to share? As Manager of Bury did you manage to bring in Ronaldo on a free?

John

2. johnmartin

johnmartin Active Member

Like St. Martin of Parkhead I'm still trying to get the Celts out of the first group stage of the Champions League. I have however gone one better than him and actually won the UEFA cup.

3. lynchie

lynchie Active Member

i tried playing as brentford for a while, but once i had actually managed to get them near the top of the league all my good players were stolen!! very upsetting, so I started again as Man Utd, spent shed loads of cash and won everything!

4. Steve

Steve Active Member

Depending on which one you are playing there are some really useful cheats if you want some fun. Kinda takes the challenge out of it but you win lots and have a really good team!!!!!!! No effort and maximum results, my favourite!!!

5. Dave Payn

Dave Payn Active Member

Amazing how computer games can mirror real life so accurately sometimes..... ;-) :lol:

6. lynchie