Can tonguing damage your teeth??

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by brassed_off, Jun 4, 2007.

1. brassed_off

brassed_off Member

I've been playing for 15 years now and I've noticed that my front bottom teeth are starting to chip and flake away. Today a large chunk fell off the back of one of them - resulting in a trip to the dentist tomorrow (Tuesday 5th). Could this be as a result of playing? (ok, so I know this would mean I'm doing it wrong - don't make me feel any worse than I do!) :mad:

Has anyone experienced the same? Is it just me? Any hints or tips? I'm very proud of my teeth - no fillings and I brush every morning and night! I hate something being wrong with them.

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    teeth
    morning
    fillings
    dentist tomorrow
    Tuesday
  3. mikelyons

mikelyons Supporting Member

How did it go?

I do not think that playing could affect your teeth so badly. Fizzy pop, sweets, gum, chewing bricks - that sort of thing, maybe.

Too much pressure would probably result in your teeth being uneven, maybe, but it would have to be pretty fierce pressure for a fair length of time.

My thought would be a mineral deficiency, maybe or some other medical/genetic condition.

4. brassed_off

brassed_off Member

Definiely not chewing bricks! Nothing dentist can do unfortunately! If they're gonna go, they're gonna go. Resulted in some fairly awful playing the first time I tried, but it's ok now. Trying to get more calcium in my diet - tricky since I don't like milk but I've found all these other things that have it in so I'm ok. Now, if they can only get calcium in beer......

5. EIBB_Ray

EIBB_Ray Member

Calcium fortified Beer - Brilliant!

I know vitamin D taken in conjunction with calcium helps the absorption of calcium for bone density, I presume the same would hold true for teeth.