Can somebody help me?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by pjb120, Dec 23, 2004.

1. pjb120

pjb120 Member

Hi, I am interested in starting a composition course in the near future, which is predominantly geared toward (or can be geared toward) brass bands. However, I have little knowledge of theory (having never studied music as a subject, although I am a fairly decent brass player), and it would need to fit around my full time work.

Does anybody therefore know of any decent composition courses, either a home study or distance learning course? It would be interesting to hear where people studied, and how the course was stuctured and assessed. Any useful website links would also be handy. Many thanks!
  2. peatair

peatair Member

Many people start with "arranging." There are "arranging" courses available - one advertises quite often in The British Bandsman - it's called Charles Cross Music School. There is also a brass course at Accrington College - which you can find on the internet. Many music theory books exist - though some of the older ones can be a bit hard going.

Apart from the above, I only know of University Degree courses.

Hope this helps.
  3. brasscrest

brasscrest Active Member

If you have little knowledge of theory, you probably are taking on a bit much to attempt composition. You need to at least understand key relationships, transposition, basic harmony, cadences, etc before you can successfully arrange. You may want to consider doing some basic theory work before starting a composition class, if for nothing else to understand the terminology.

4. davidsait

davidsait Member

5. pjb120

pjb120 Member