Byrdman

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by LarryC, Nov 15, 2005.

1. LarryC

LarryC New Member

I'm new to your site. I appreciate the opportunity to share ideas.
    I am new to the Brass Band venue, more particularly to playing the flugel. I have played trumpet for 45 yrs. My lovely wife surprized me 3-4 years ago with a Getzen Eterna flugel horn for Christmas. I didn't want one for anyother reason than to add to my horn collection. About 2 years ago, I was asked to join the Natural State Brass Band, filling the flugel chair. Since that time I have become more interested in refining my flugel skills which now focuses more around making sure I have the best instument (within my budget) to get the best sound possible. I would like some feedback on reasonably priced flugels that give the British Brass Band sound and what combinations of mouthpieces would compliment the horn. I think and have been told that my horn has a rich sound, but it didn't come until I started using a Wick 4 mouthpiece. I give up a little range on this mouth piece and need to add to my collection for times when I need the extra range. My Getzen has no triggers and is in need of some valve work. Before I spend the money to upgrade my horn, I thought that I would see what was available and buy a used horn that would better fit my needs. I would also like some feedback on the advantages/disadvantages of the 4 valve horns. Minimum standards for a different horn would be a well-centered intonaton, 3rd valve trigger, rich sound and somewhere in the $1000.00 price range.

Last edited: Nov 15, 2005
  2. WoodenFlugel

WoodenFlugel Moderator Staff Member

Hey Larry

:hi to tMP - it's always good to see another flugel player swelling the ranks - there are quite a few of us here already.