Brass in Schools

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by cornyandy, Feb 28, 2012.

1. cornyandy

cornyandy Member

Hi all

This is prompted by the "where have all the BBb bass players gone" thread. I am trying very hard to make ends meet while taking music exams and doing lots of practice. I work in a school and I see primary school children taking in trumpets (many of them are too small for a trumpet and would be better with the shorter cornet), trombones, and french horns. Most of these brass players have never heard of a Flugel or a tenor horn. With a little bit of digging I find that they only teach the instruments which children can go on to play proffessionally and study at Uni (not my prejudice but one oft repeated) It seems that because brass bands are amatuer they are considered second rate by, I would guesss, education authorities even if not by the actual teachers. I assume they don't fit in with the education eduction eduaction for work ehtic which abounds in modern schools.

My own view is that is if you play a brass instrument you should look at banding as well because the vast majority of people will be able to play it recreationally. My own orchestral experience is limited to counting hundreds of bars rest playing a little fanfare then going to sleep until the final flourish. I often think it would be great if a band or a group of banders could get out into schools to try to inspire more youngsters in our direction. I am aware there are some very good young players about but I wonder how many come from banding families. Even 20+ years ago when I was at school I was told not to bother with the cornet and my treacher tried evey trick possible to get me to swap to trumpet.

Sorry this is a long post but the rant is now over

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    BBb
    brass players
    primary school children
    work ehtic
    modern schools
  3. Aussie Tuba

Aussie Tuba Member