Bows and Arrows...

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by BrianT, Sep 11, 2007.

1. BrianT

BrianT Member

I went with my family on a day out where we made bows and arrows out of tree branches and string and feathers. Then we all lined up to take pot shots at a twig which was our "target". I've never done any sort of archery before, and needless to say my arrows were nowhere near the mark. Then I handed my homemade rubbish bow and bendy rubbish arrow to the chap who was running the day, and he hit the target on the first attempt. There was I all to ready to blame the tools when it was actually my skill that was deficient.

So whenever I'm tempted by a shiny new instrument I just remember the above incident and put my wallet away.

How do others overcome the urge to spend money on new instruments that we don't really need?
  2. tpcornet12

tpcornet12 Member

I just have a look at my bank statement and that usually stops me!
  3. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

This is a HUGE can of worms you have opened ... ;) The technology vs. the essential build of anything still relies on the user knowing how to control the basic functions of the equipment. Development of any tool is essentially meant to make things easier for the user but, for example, any top of the range car which has all the latest safety and ergonomic designs included doesn't stop the driver from being able to lose control and crash it!
  4. David Mann

David Mann Member

In music, as in golf, people can justify spending a couple of grand on equipment but consider twenty quid for a professional lesson too expensive.
  5. brasscrest

brasscrest Active Member

Or spending large amounts on a new instrument, but still never picking it up except when at band rehearsal or performance. A bit of home practice is often the most important investment you can make as a player.
  6. tpcornet12

tpcornet12 Member