Books for the Self Taught

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by 2nd tenor, Sep 2, 2014.

1. 2nd tenor

2nd tenor Active Member

Whilst using a good teacher will always be the best route that option isn’t always available. Some of us will be basically self taught with maybe an occasional lesson from either a professional or a more experienced player. After a long gap I re-learnt to play as an adult and liked the steady paced engaging style of the ‘Tune a Day’ books (one and two). After completing those books I never found a natural follow on text for the self taught just plenty of stuff (like Arban) to skilfully run through with a teacher or blunder through by yourself. Much practice, if blundering at times, has just got me a first trombone chair :) in 4[SUP]th[/SUP] section level band – great move, but why did playing 1[SUP]st[/SUP] look easy enough when I played 2[SUP]nd [/SUP]:-?.

I am wondering what practical and theory ‘teach yourself’ type books people use to advance their playing and what they would recommend as both ENJOYABLE to use and effective.
  2. DS2014

DS2014 Active Member

Howard Snell's The Art of Practice is a great book, though not of the play-along type. It's more a book that one reads in order to learn more about how to practice and what to practice. In writing the book, I think he understood your dilemma in that there are millions of books presenting practice routines and exercises, but not that many about the why's and how's of practice. It's an easy read, with short chapters, examples, and some interesting asides. Additionally, when I went to buy it I found it was out of stock, and I got re-directed to Snell's own website ( and he sent it extremely quickly through the post.