Best Tuning Slide Grease?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Sonic Trombone, Oct 9, 2011.

1. Sonic Trombone

Sonic Trombone New Member

simple question: - What's the best tuning slide grease?

I play trombone, and I'm more or less settled on my choice of lube for the slide/valve, but I've never really found anything good for my tuning slide - So tMP'ers, what snake oil do you swear by?
  2. pbirch

pbirch Member

3. GJG

GJG Well-Known Member

Automotive axle grease (yep, really). When I used to work in the aerospace industry I used to use Shell No.7 Aerogrease; not available commercially, as far as I know, but definitely the best stuff in my experience. With the added bonus of ensuring that your instrument is officially flight-certified ...
  4. WoodenFlugel

WoodenFlugel Moderator Staff Member

I use (and always have done since Noah was a boy) Selmar tuning slide and cork grease. Its great stuff - you only need to put a pin-head sized dot on each branch - once you've spread it around that's all you need until you clean your instrument again and your slide will always move when required. The added bonus is that it lasts forever - I recently bought my third bottle in <cough>30<cough> years of playing. I lost one bottle and my last bottle split after I tried to cram too much stuff in my case (not good - it was a b*itch to get off the furry lining!). I think most decent instrument suppliers stock it but here's a link to John Packer's anyway.
  5. arniesarnies

arniesarnies Member

Pond's dry hand cream. The very best bar none. Apply sparingly around the bottom of you inner slide, where the wear mark's are, then use a spray of water over the slide. Then work it in with the slide, and spray a bit more water. Do this every week and if you find your using the spray bottle to much, well, start again with the cream. Also before you use your cream clean your inner slide with window cleaner to get rid of all the old cream and grit. Hope this help's...