Bells Palsey

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by andywooler, Dec 20, 2005.

1. andywooler

andywooler Supporting Member

A real bummer when you are a brass player but I am currently unable to play due to a bout of Bells Palsey - has anyone here had it?
    I would welcome any tips on how I can get the chops able to play again!

Many thanks.
  2. Chunky

Chunky Active Member

Hi Andy

Sorry to hear of your condition.

Am no expert on this but a quick google found this page with facial exercises that might help with keeping the muscles / chops in shape.

Hope it improves for you soon.
  3. BigHorn

BigHorn Active Member

When I was a student, one of my friends had this condition. He had it for a couple of weeks then it cleared up of its own accord almost overnight - certainly within a couple of days. I don't recall him doing anything other than waiting for it to recover. I beleive in the vast majority of cases it is very temporary so, unless you have been told otherwise by your doctor, I would have a nice relaxing christmas and don't worry about it too much. Hopefully your chops will be raring to go in the new year ready for all that practice of the regional test pieces.
  4. TheMusicMan

TheMusicMan tMP Founder Staff Member

Sorry to hear that you are suffering from this Andy.

I had a mate who was playing trombone in a band where I was both playing and conducting who suffered from this. In his case it lasted several months but then cleared up and he resumed playing. I am not sure there's anything you are able to do about it until some strength and control is regained in the affected facial muscle. I know of a tMP'er whose daughter has recently contracted this too - I won't divulge names publicly but if you would like to contact her drop me a PM.

Wishing you well Andy...
  5. wkt

wkt Member