Beginners Question

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by ronniemac, Dec 22, 2008.

1. ronniemac

ronniemac New Member

Hello all. I am new to this thread and am actually posting this question on behalf of my 11 year old son who has just started playing the cornet.

He has started having trouble practicing because one of the valves on his cornet keeps on "sticking". I have read somewhere in the archives on this forum about oiling valves? As my sons cornet is a lone, I am not sure when it was last oiled.

Can someone please advise me as to how I go about doing this and what oil I should use? Is it simply a case of dropping a couple of drops of WD40 onto the valve and pressing it up and down a few times?

Many thanks,
  2. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

I wouldn't advise it! Go to a local music shop and buy proper instrument valve oil.

Alternatively, buy some online. Windcraft sell a few brands (type "valve oil" in the search category).
  3. andyp

andyp Active Member

Speaking as someone who once tried this - nononononononononoooo!!!!

Vale oil mixes with water - WD40 like most oil repels it (it's one of the selling points of it, gets damp engine ignitions going).

WD40 is great on valves for about 60 seconds - then it turns to the consistency of Vaseline, which gums them up completely solid. And I mean completely! Not good on a concert (which is where I was after trying it on mine). Had to play the next piece on my 2md's cornet while he cleaned my valves. Not popular!

Go to your local friendly music shop and buy proper valve oil, it may be £5 a bottle but it's worth every penny.
  4. ronniemac

ronniemac New Member

Thanks guys. OK I'll get some oil tomorrow - how do I apply it? Do you just put a couple of drops on the valves and press them up and down a lot?

5. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

If the valve (& casing) is clean, a few drops will do.
  6. scotchgirl

scotchgirl Active Member