Beginners Cornet

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Lauren Bond, Oct 21, 2017.

1. Lauren Bond

Lauren Bond New Member

Hi there!

I'm an adult learner (aged 21), and started learning the Cornet in June and am taking my Grade 1 in December. I have been renting a Besson student cornet since I began learning but would like to get my own for Christmas as the Besson is a bit old and battered.

I am looking at these 3 models and was wondering if you could advise which to choose?
    - Jupiter JCR-700-Q
    - Yamaha YCR2330III
    - Virtuosi Regency VB-121UKL

I am really taking learning and playing quite seriously, I practice everyday and am in a few beginners brass bands which I love playing in. So I want a good one that will last for the first grades! As I'm a student I can only afford a beginners model.

Thanks.

2. Tom-King

Tom-King Well-Known Member

Are we talking about new or second hand instruments, here?

Personally I'd ignore the virtuosi and direct my attention to the Jupiter and Yamaha - they're both very solid student instruments made by excellent makers who build serious pro models.

If you're looking at second hand, it's worth having someone knowledgeable play it (your teacher or whomever) to be sure you're not getting a duff one (it's no uncommon for student instruments to be abused and play poorly as a result)... On top of that, there are particular warning signs to walk away from some second hand instruments.

All the best

Jack E likes this.
  3. Lauren Bond

Lauren Bond New Member

Hi Tom, I'm planning on getting a new one. :) Thanks for your response!

4. David Broad

David Broad New Member

I would look round the band and see what other players are playing. If they play Besson, then get a Besson, (or York, Sterling made from the same design) If Yamaha get a Yamaha etc.