Becontree Brass Band

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by simonwhte, Mar 21, 2006.

1. simonwhte

simonwhte New Member

hey all, i hope this is in the right place,i played on Sunday at L&SC with Beocntree brass band and i would like to recomend this experience to anyone looking to play with a band in the London/Essex Area,they were a friendly and professional outfit to work with. Although i was slightly younger than the majority of the band i was made to feel welcome and appreciated by everyone inculding all the band locals and MD Graham Sheldon.I felt the group put on a good performance on Sunday and were unfairly judged on a slightly ropey introduction which i felt then developed into a good all round performance. I have worked with a large number of well known brass bandsmen including Jonathon Corry and Leslie Neish and i am currently studying for a music degree so i have some grasp of what good music is, and i can safely say this was good music.

Unfortunately i will be unable to join the band full time as i live on the opposite side of London but i would happily help them again and would recomend anyone looking for a change of band to strongly conisder Becontree
  2. Dave Payn

Dave Payn Active Member

I can certainly vouch for how friendly and knowledgeable they are. I was honoured to be asked to dep for them as conductor a few years back for a SCABA contest. (In the days when Bill Rumford was their regular MD). Always had a good laugh with them, and I feel I benefited as a conductor from my time with them as they were already a fine band then. Even though at the time they were in the third section, I said to their former bass trombonist Mike Darriba that there was a first section band in the making. He was a bit reluctant to agree with my assessment at the time but they're there now!

I have many fond memories of bands I played/conducted with in London and the SE, and certainly Becontree hold a special place in those memories.
  3. Redhorn