BBA 2007 update

Discussion in 'Brass Band Aid - news & discussion' started by Bob Thompson, May 28, 2006.

1. Bob Thompson

Bob Thompson Member

Hello tmp’ers,
    Sorry I haven’t been here for a while, however, the work life balance, or should I say the BBA life balance has been somewhat out of kilter in recent months! I realised I had to work for a living!!
    Anyway, by way of an update re BBA, where to begin,
    Well presumably most people will know that Briony and I visited the project in Ethiopia in April, and to say the least it was an experience of a lifetime without doubt.
    We met with the local development committee, the team from World Vision who are to manage the project on behalf of BBA, the builders and of course the children and young people of the Adet region who will be attending the new school.
    Having witness for ourselves the present conditions we were shocked at the reality of the existing school and the struggles that the pupils and teachers have to face on a daily basis.
    For more info and pictures, please visit the BBA website.

Projects in the pipeline:
    The new BBA CD:
    Will hopefully be released in time for the lower section finals at Harrogate in September, failing that I am confident it will be ready for the London Nationals.
    The CD will contain approx 10-12 brand new compositions on an African theme, undertaken by some of the best Brass Band composers, e.g., Jan Magne Forde, Kenneth Downey, Alan Fernie and some not so well known composers too.
    Having received most of the compositions already, I can’t wait to hear the recorded versions, they are all quite different as one would expect, but all of them are wonderful pieces.