Bb/F Trombone Triggers

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by brewerdan, Feb 11, 2006.

1. brewerdan

brewerdan New Member

Hi I'm new at this, but, I was wondering if a fellow Trombonist could aide me in a decision, I am currently looking to purchase a new proffesional trombone, the Rath R3 is my preffered at the moment, however I am unsure whether I should buy a trombone with a Bb/F trigger, in a proffesional orchestra do I need one? I am currently 16 but want a tronbone that would take my to my potential, so, I put the question to you all, Trigger or No Trigger?
    Dan

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Conn 88H
    Trombone Triggers
    British
    Conns
    Bach
  3. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

Hi there, and welcome to tMP! I'm sure that many of our resident trom. players will advise you on the most suitable trombone. Here is a link to one of the major music shops (in New York) called Giardinelli and it's guide to choosing a trombone ... (to get the ball rolling)

http://www.giardinelli.com/document?doc_id=97921&g=home&s=guides

4. brasscrest

brasscrest Active Member

Most professional trombonists that I know (and I know quite a few) have multiple instruments for different playing situations. It used to be that professional tenor trombone players would never us an instrument with a trigger (and some still won't), but advances in the valve technology have helped make triggers more acceptable in the professional world.

Do you have a good trombone teacher? If so, then you might want to get some advice from the teacher on what to buy. If not, you might consider spending your money on really good instruction and buying a slightly lesser instrument.

Whatever trombone you decide to buy, make sure that you actually play the instrument you're going to purchase before you make any commitment of money. Even the best makes can have problems on individual instruments.

5. Bass Trumpet

Bass Trumpet Active Member