Bb bass mouthpiece help

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by rickcowens2005, Jan 4, 2005.

1. hi (im back on the net yey) i moved on to Bb bass from euph afew months ago and ive got a brand new courtois and i am using there mouthpiece, would anyone recomend another mouthpiece or is this perfect 1? please help bass is a new thin to me.

Rick

2. Brassb3ll3nd

Brassb3ll3nd Member

Wellcome..... to the demanding world of the BBb player.

I've been playing Bb for around 30 years and I think you have to be pretty mad to do it. I used to use a Vincent Bach which has a lovely comfortable rim (if you pardon the expression!) however I'm currently playing on a Dennis Wick 1L which isn't too bad, their rims arent as sharp as they used to be.

Since you've only recently come off Euph I wouldn't get the biggest mouthpiece in the range until you've developed your own affinity with the beast. But really you should try as many as you can till you find something you are comfotable with and progress onto larger cups in order to expand your lower register (fnar - fnar).

Whatever you do have fun at the back of the Band room...........I do!

3. thanxs im gona try afew after ive got preston contest and the areas out of the way (disided to move off euph wen they started looking at trittico and partita)

4. Brassb3ll3nd

Brassb3ll3nd Member

Good luck........... you'll either love it [​IMG] or loathe it. [​IMG]

5. lister89

lister89 Member

You'll see the light and realise that euph's the best section in the band :D

6. AndyCat

AndyCat Active Member

Well, welcome to the real world!

Some good all round very common mouthpieces are the Bach 24AW or 18, Wick 1L, Schilke Helleberg. Any of these are a good starter. The Helleberg (a copy of a Conn) mouthpiece is the most commonly used in the world apparently!