Bass trombone in G

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by madrich, Jun 8, 2006.

1. madrich

madrich Member

Does anyone happen to have lying around in a dusty attic an old G bass trombone (the ones with the gear stick to push the slide?). I ask, because a friend of mine collects trombones and would really appreciate one of these to complete his set. If anyone has one for sale (preferably with the key which transposes down a major 4th to D) can you pm me and i'll put him in touch with you?

Thanks loads,

2. GJG

GJG Well-Known Member

Forgive me if this is nonsense, as I'm by no means an expert on 'G' troms, however I had always thought that one had either a handle or a 'D' trigger, not both ... ?
  3. madrich

madrich Member

I really don't know - I'm just going by what the chap said to me!
  4. PeterBale

PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

The G/D trombones still need a handle, or else you couldn't reach the further positions.

Here's a picture from Doug Yeo's website:

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 8, 2006
  5. GJG

GJG Well-Known Member

I understand that, I just thought that having a trigger negated the need to use 6th/7th, although I also understand, as with Bb/F instruments, there are times when long positions are preferable to using the trigger.

Like I say, I wasn't sure, it was just an impression I had ...
  6. Bass Trumpet

Bass Trumpet Active Member