Bass Trom arrived in Sheffield

Discussion in 'Recruitment Corner' started by Matt_Bown, Oct 5, 2005.

1. Matt_Bown

Matt_Bown New Member

Hi, i've just started at Sheffield uni, and having not played regulalrly for 3 months, i'm looking to get back into regular practices and concerts. I passed my grade 8 bass trom in june, hopefully that'll tell you a bit about my playing standard. I would like to find a good first section band, but am very willing to join an ambitious second section band, who are aiming for promotion.

If you're interested, e-mail me:, and i'll get back to you promptly. The only problem is that I don't drive, so transport to practices would be needed.

2. zuzanna

zuzanna New Member

I've passed a message to someone from Stannington Brass band (first section) as I think they may need a bass trombone and have sent you an email about it.

Welcome to brass banding in Sheffield and to the university (i am a student there too but for me it is my fifth year in the place). Hope you enjoy it here and the banding rivalry that goes on between the local bands!
  3. tubafran

tubafran Active Member

Old Silkstone - promoted to Championship Section 1/01/2006 may also be looking for a bass trombone as they are currently "borrowing" ours. I'll pass your details on too. They have people travelling up from Sheffield so I'm sure lifts can be sorted.
  4. geordiecolin

geordiecolin Active Member

Enjoy your time in Sheffield. Sheffield (and Barnsley) has a great, friendly banding scene and if you get involved you'll make some great friends. I certainly did during my time in Sheffield as a student.

For what it's worth, Stannington and Silkstone are both canny bands and I'm sure Francis (see above) and his non-contesting Killamarsh band will always welcome along a friendly face to join in the fun and frolics if you're ever bored on a Sunday evening!
  5. Magic Flute

Magic Flute Supporting Member