Bass Player looking for Band in South Wales Valleys

Discussion in 'Recruitment Corner' started by DLayne, Oct 15, 2007.

1. DLayne

DLayne New Member

For quite a few years now Ive been thinking about buying myself a tuba, and getting back into practice with a view to joining a band. However, it has only really been in the last few months or so that I have really been in a position to give it serious consideration - so I figure that now is as good a time as any to start looking round for brass/wind bands in the local area. :D

I started playing the Eb tuba in primary school, and continued through secondary school (only giving up because the local education authority wouldn't give tuition beyond GCSE to non-music students). Rotherham had an excellent series of school bands for students to pass through, and by the time I finished secondary school I had risen to principal tuba player in the Rotherham Schools Concert Band (whilst continuing to assist the Junior and Intermediate bands).

As I am very obviously out of practice (15+ years!) I was hoping to find a local band who would be happy to give me time to 'find my feet' once again, as well as provide advice on getting hold of a decent second hand instrument. I was hoping to find a band within 30 minutes drive - which covers most of the South Wales valleys, Cardiff and Newport.

Many thanks for any assistance.

David Layne
  2. Di

Di Active Member

Hi David and :hi to tMP. Good to see someone coming back into banding.

I'm sure you will have some positive replies fairly soon.

Good luck. :)
  3. Ffion Flugel

Ffion Flugel Member

You don't say where you are, but if you're anywhere near Llandrindod Wells we're always looking for players! You'd be very welcome on a Wednesday evening between 7pm and 8.30pm
  4. DLayne

DLayne New Member

Oooops :oops: - knew I had forgotten something!