bass and euph mutes

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by satchmo shaz, Jun 29, 2004.

1. satchmo shaz

satchmo shaz Active Member

hi experts, we need bass and euph mutes, what companies do em apart from the usual wicks and how much, whatdo you all recommend

cheers :wink:

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    euph mutes
    bass
    em
    companies
    experts
  3. Owen

Owen Member

Hi

I would recommend that you try and match them to whatever your horn and baritone players are using. Failing that, I gather that Peter Gane mutes are back in production and that is what my band uses on all instruments from Flugel downwards. I would suggest having a look at them - not sure about price though...

4. nickjones

nickjones Active Member

I am not an expert...
    denis wick ( silver/ tin )- bass and euph mutes are really clear sounding , have to be careful if you are recording or using them in a competition or you get mute clunks and noises
    Hume and berg- these mutes are ok...the tuba mutes are a little odd on some notes ( they dont speak clearly ) , and dont fit Bb tuba instruments properly ( need extra corks ), good quality mutes and they give a really mellow muted noise ( great for extreme quiet dynamics ).
    Peter Gane - All round a pretty good mute , holds intonation are fibre so no metal clunks when you put them in...much different sound produced to denis wick mute.

I think the Wick mutes are the most expensive , but are worth it.
    Peter Gane are good , I think there was an availibility problem but if you can get a set of Euph and Tuba mutes they are a great investment for any band
    Hume and Berg are the cheapest and are another Option.

5. Darth_Tuba

Darth_Tuba Active Member