Basic ABRSM music theory and aural

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by 2nd tenor, Feb 9, 2014.

1. 2nd tenor

2nd tenor Active Member

Music theory is something I’ve never been that interested in (a case of: the conductor will tell me what he wants and that’s all that matters) and no one has expected me to know any. Well the above may have been true in the past, but in the future people might well expect me to have music theory knowledge and, even though I’m ‘middle aged’, I’d also like to take some ABRSM grades at some point too.

I’m mostly self taught – occasionally I have a practical lesson but he doesn’t do theory - so I need to do the theory and aural for the ABRSM stuff myself. Does anyone know of interesting books and websites that will help? I’ll have to start with the very basic stuff first and, as this stuff can be really boring, the books and sites need to be light and entertaining. Your suggestions please.

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    ABRSM
    aural Music theory
    Basic ABRSM music theory
    music theory knowledge
    interesting books
  3. Coverhead

Coverhead Member

Hi,

I would recommend Eric Taylor's 'Guide to Music Theory' (in 2 parts), it's published by the ABRSM so should provide everything you need for grades... I wouldn't go as far as saying it's light and entertaining though! Part 1 starts with basic rhythms, scales, etc. and the end of Part 2 takes you up to 20th century developments such as the 'twelve-tone method' and all that gubbins.

In terms of websites, I've always found http://www.musictheory.net/ helpful for the aural side of things. You can set up little tests for yourself and change the difficulty to suit your needs.

Good luck with your studies :)

4. superwan

superwan Member