Baritone to Trombone advice

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by MosleyMF, Nov 21, 2014.

1. MosleyMF

MosleyMF New Member

Hi guys. I'm thinking of swapping my baritone for a Trombone. I'm getting sick of Bari as all the parts are dull. Is the Trombone easy to play. It's never seemed that hard to me but I am only a amateur. Any advice welcome. Instruments, slide positions, embrochure etc. Thanks in advance. MMF.
  2. Hsop

Hsop Member

You mention that it's never seemed that hard to you so you should be fine. Shame about that dull baritone music. Makes you wonder how a baritone player from dyke can be British solo champion then?
  3. MosleyMF

MosleyMF New Member

Sorry. I didn't mean to offend. I'm sure the baritone player in Foss Dyke band is great but I don't exactly play at that level. MMF
  4. halsasaurus

halsasaurus Member

I tried to move from Baritone / Euphonium to Trombone for a bit of Variety and a challenge way back when. I probably taught myself the wrong way though i.e I saw a note and its relative fingering of valves which I then mentally associated with a slide position on the trombone. It was basically ok but, I never felt like I was doing it the right way. The trombone is often referred to as Gods Own Instrument and a Trombonist should apparently never be out of tune. Unfortunately, this certainly never applied to my Trombone playing, although I have always been happy with my tuning on valve instruments. Maybe it is just me but I definitely think that it is easier for a Trombone player to move to Baritone than the other way around
  5. hobgoblin

hobgoblin Member

There are some great players in lesser bands. It always amuses me when Sandy Smith is accorded guru status on here, and frankly I could blow him off the stand and I play horn with a non-contesting outfit.
  6. MosleyMF

MosleyMF New Member

Sorry you've lost me there chief. A bit new to this. I've just got into our senior band. Does he play for Fulham band?
  7. 2nd tenor