Bands in London with Conducting Vacancies?

Discussion in 'Recruitment Corner' started by cornetcheese, Sep 12, 2005.

1. cornetcheese

cornetcheese Member

Bands in London?

Just a quick message to ask if anyone could recommend any bands in the London area? I'm going to be moving there from the end of December and would be looking for a band to play with or conduct. As a conductor, I studied at the RSAMD in Glasgow and have been conducting Shotts St Patrick's Brass (scottish 3rd section champions), Clydebank Burgh and Kingdom Brass. I have also conducted the Bathgate Band and Newtongrange previously.

I am also a cornet player (alledgedly!) and have played with Bon-Accord Silver, Kirkintilloch, Kirkintilloch Kelvin, Newtongrange, Kingdom Brass and Clydebank bands, although I've not played regularly for a wee while, due to conducting commitments. I'd certainly be interested in getting back into playing though when I move!

If anyone has any recommendations, please give me a shout!
  2. cornetcheese

cornetcheese Member

forgot to mention, I'll probably be living in the vicinity of London Bridge - any bands around there?
  3. Chris Kirk

Chris Kirk Member

Although, we are not near to London Bridge, Welwyn Garden City is about 40 mins from central London to Hertfordshire. Alternatively, someone could probably give you a lift from a tube station in the NW area.

If you are interested, e mail me at

4. Dave Payn

Dave Payn Active Member

Well, you can try any of Crystal Palace Band (2nd section), Fulham (just promoted to 3rd) or Croydon (3rd section). I've played with/conducted all of them. So far as conductors go, I think they're all 'fully booked' at the mo. If you want any further info (like specific contact details), by all means PM me.
  5. kjm

kjm Member