Banding Mentality??

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Chris Sanders, Jun 15, 2004.

1. Chris Sanders

Chris Sanders Active Member

Having just read the posts regarding 'Getting into a Championship Band', I find my self disgusted by the opinions of some fellow banders.

I have been playing for 14 years, not as long as many of you I know, but as I have played in the 4th, 1st and Championship sections, I feel I have experienced boths bands and banders of almost every level.

I was wondering if anyone shared my views on the following topics;

1) Why do people consider themselves better players just because they maybe in a higher section? How does this affect the lower section players who maybe better players playing purely for pleasure?

2) Do the section boundaries accuratly reflect the precise standard of each band, the points system is taken over three years, so if a band can change its personnel and programme as often as they do, then whats to say the band is still playing at the same level?

3) Taking into account my previous question, is the points system fair? Could anyone suggest a better method of dividing sections?

4) Should bands be allowed to borrow players for the major contests, such as the Area and Finals? Would this increase the standard of bands by players playing in more than one area, or would it destroy opportunities for players to take vacant postions?

I hope nobody takes offence to any of my views, if you find these to be incorrect then by all means, please educate me!

Chris

2. Accidental

Accidental Supporting Member

In my experience, most don't. There is a fairly strong argument for the players in the top few bands, especially the principals, being better than the rest of us though! :wink:
    I don't think it does. I know plenty of great players in lower section bands who love their banding and don't give a *beep* what people in other bands think - good on them!