bad at french horn

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by thevolslover, Oct 29, 2006.

1. thevolslover

thevolslover New Member

Ok, I started playing french horn in 6th grade. Apparantly when we tried out for instruments i was extremely good at it because i think i got about a 9/9 on the compatibility sheet and they make an extra spot for me on the french horn line. I did pretty well at it but really didn't like it. Then i got braces and those really didn't affect it. Then my band director asked me if i would like to switch to trumpet at the end of seventh grade and i said sure i've always wanted to try it. Then i was ok at trumpet but for some reason i didn't play over the summer for about 4 weeks and was extremely bad at it. I worked at it because i hated being bad and managed to get it a bit better. Then at the end of eighth i switched back to french horn and started playing mellophone for marching band. Mellophone is extremely easy for me and i have a better range than most of the freshman because of practicing the trumpet a lot. Now concert season is almost here and i've started practicing horn again. There is one problem though. I am really bad at it now. It always seems like my lips won't warm up to it and everytime i play now it gets a very airy sound. I may be imagining it but i think i distinctly remember having a nice tone on horn but now i don't. The only way i can get a better tone is to play everything really loud. My scales sound bad. I got my braces off maybe 4 weeks ago but it sounded bad with them on too. Before I switched to trumpet and i had braces it sounded fine. Also I have kind of a bad school horn and it doesn't play very well. I liked the one I had in seventh grade much better. I tried to give the french horn a bath and cleaned out the lead pipe a lot. Now the second and third valves are EXTREMELY SLOW slow as a dry trumpet valve. I'm starting to kind of worry too because try outs are in about 2 weeks and I'm very scared I will do