Audition pieces

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Majoresteve, Jan 29, 2005.

1. Majoresteve

Majoresteve Member

Ive got a audition for uni soon, havent set the date yet so i have a bit of time.
    However having never really done a audition like this before, i was wondering what type of pieces i should do?

I dont know the requirements for the audition as i only got the letter today, but its for Huddersfield.

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Ive
    Huddersfield
    Audition pieces Ive
    uni
    date
  3. Bex_Euph

Bex_Euph Member

hiya im in my second year at hudds uni and its really good.
    For my audition I played my grade 8 piece (Horovitz euph concerto 1st movement) and the 2nd movement of it as well which I think is about grade 7 standard.
    You just basically have to pick two contrasting pieces or movements to show that u can play different styles.
    I didnt end up playing that much in my audition I just chatted to Dave Thornton who auditioned me and is now my teacher.
    Its really brilliant at hudds u should definatly come, if you do performance you get an hour a week tuition on it which is more then most uni's offer.
    GOOD LUCK :p ;)

4. Andy_Euph

Andy_Euph Active Member

I too had an audition at Hudds and went there for a bit, audition was ok basically as Becca says just two contrasting pieces that show you can play, I did Rhapsody and Holy Well so just shows you don't have to play hard pieces!

Auditions are a bugger though if you've never done anything like that before, my first experience was being auditioned by David King for Salford :shock: ...**** myself but mustn't have been that shocking as I got a place

Good luck anyway :)

5. Ginge

Ginge Member

Absolutely hate auditions! Never do play very well in them.
    Have got one for the Marines in a couple of weeks, so i hope it goes better for me this time!