Arranging

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by audleyshedbuilder, Oct 9, 2006.

1. I hope someone on here can I help me. I'd like to be able to get into arranging pieces for brass band - I've had some experience in arranging hymn tunes for playing at the local church (I have done these under the church's CCLI licence), and I have read the copyright info on here.

However, I've found it notoriously difficult to get permission to arrange more complicated pieces.

I apologise if this thread has been done before (if it has can someone point me in the right direction).

Thanks in advance

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    CCLI
    arranging pieces
    arranging hymn tunes
    complicated pieces
    permission
  3. mikelyons

mikelyons Supporting Member

Hi,

You need to do a whole series of things:

1. Find out who the copyright holder is.
    2. Ask them grant you copyright permission for your arrangement. You are in a bit of a cleft stick here because technically, you are not supposed to arrange without permission but most copyright holders want to hear/see how good your arrangement is before they'll let you have the copyright.
    3. Accept that fact that some companies/holders will not grant you copyright no matter what you do. (BMG/Ricordi are particularly **** in this respect, in my experience. They'll lead you on for a few months and then suddenly stop all correspondence without any explanation! :mad: )
    4. Be prepared to have to pay. Some holders will charge the Earth, others just a small reasonable fee. There's no logic or system to it so don't expect any sense.
    5. Make sure you establish your right to copy on paper and send yourself (or your solicitor) a copy of your score which you post in a sealed envelope, preferably by recorded delivery and never open.

Have I missed anythng?

4. BeatTheSheep

BeatTheSheep Member

you seem to have covered the legalities better than I would have.