Are they really so bad?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by samop, Mar 14, 2014.

1. samop

samop New Member

I'm an amateur tenor trombonist (Vincent Bach 42B) in local wind bands and orchestras and occasionally double the bass trombone parts, so I was thinking of getting a cheap bass trombone.

I appreciate this is Heretic and I'm going to get pelted with mouthpieces and poked with cleaning rods, but everyone says these cheap Chinese imports are serious rubbish and don't touch them, but in reality how bad can they be? As long as the slide is good and the value works then what?

Obviously the tone isn't going to be up to a pro standard instrument but for the occasional bass bits where all that people will hear is the pedal notes does it really matter?

What do you think chaps?

2. samop

samop New Member

Sorry, typing mistake...

I meant ".....As long as the slide is good and the valve works..." (not the "Value" works... that wouldn't make sense)?
  3. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

Not heresy at all. Chinese brass instrument making started out poor but has been worth considering for some while.

Avoid buying sight unseen direct from China. You'll pay less, but the chance you end up with a trombone-shaped object rather than a trombone increases markedly, anecdotal evidence suggests. Instead, go to one of the various importers of these things in the UK and try their stock out. Some of these options are Wessex Tubas, Mayflower (model EC5) and Virtuosi. You'll pay a bit more than for another new Chinese bass trombone, but you will be certain that what you get will have been properly quality checked, and you'll have the opportunity to try it out yourself before committing your money.