Are Composers slaves to the publishing industry?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by James McFadyen, Dec 21, 2003.

1. James McFadyen

James McFadyen New Member

I spark up this friendly debate in the hope to bring composers to realise there is a big world out there in the music industry and publishers are not doing the sufficent, or are they? - you decide!

I was first published when I was 18, I was thrilled, after trying for many years, my work was finally at a point where I would be able to call myself a Composer, in the true sense of the word. After several years of seeing no financial returns, nor any great development in my career as a composer, I decided to chuck in the towel and start my own publishing company. Luckily I was armed with a decent amount of business know-how to get me started! Since running my own publishing label, I have made more sales, more money, more respect and my name has grown.

If you are with a publisher, are they giving you the best deal. Composers get 10% sheet music royalties which, considering the job we do, is absolutely crap. IMHO, I don't think publishers are doing enough for their composers, and I'm absoultely gobsmacked that composers still send their scores to be published by big publishing houses.

Now, of course, not every composer has the means to publish his/her own work, but most do. Doing ur books, paying ur tax, NI, etc, etc can be learned very fast and there is plenty of help out there, up in Scotland, we have the Small Business Gateway - they may have that all over the uk, though. They are a great help for any small business.

I think It's high-time that Composers start earning what's rightfully there's - with digital technologies and the Internet and the tight community of banding, it can be real easy to do the job. Plus, in your company website, it's deedicated to you, you don't have to fight against any other names in ur own company.