anyone any ideas?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by BeatTheSheep, Oct 20, 2005.

1. BeatTheSheep

BeatTheSheep Member

I hope someone can help here. One of my pupils is studying A-level music, and his performance part (on baritone) requires him to find 20 mins or so of music from the same composer, and then do an essay on one of the pieces comparing & contrasting two recordings of one piece to boot.

So we are looking for a piece by james curnow that would go with rhapsody for euph and fill the rest of his performance portfolio. Obviously the rhapsody is ideal for standard (grade 6-7) and recordings available, but he needs one or two contrasting pieces by the same composer -with piano parts.

Anyone any ideas? thinking of salvation army repertoire of which I have little knowledge apart from being on essays for brass

thanks to anyone who can save his bacon

2. BeatTheSheep

BeatTheSheep Member

3. Kerwintootle

Kerwintootle Member

I think there is a Euphonium concerto by James Curnow published by De Haske.

4. Janet Watkins

Janet Watkins Member

5. mikelyons

mikelyons Supporting Member

If he is doing OCR, it doesn't have to be the same composer. You can choose a particular style, genre or technical aspect for your recital. The Performance investigation can be on some broader topic related to the instrument. In the case of the baritone, where the repertoire is thin on the ground, you can cover some wider aspect - say the brass band in general - or some thing specifically to do with a related instrument (Euph/Ten Horn for example) or some other aspect of performance technique.

6. sevenhelz

sevenhelz Active Member

uh, but if it's ocr, doesn't the music have to be originally written for that instrument?
    xx

7. DublinBass

DublinBass Supporting Member

I think Symphonic Variants is the one that comes to mind for me

8. mikelyons

mikelyons Supporting Member

No, I don't think so.