Any tips?

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by euphfanhan, Nov 12, 2005.

1. euphfanhan

euphfanhan Member

Since I started playing 3 years ago, I have been told by annoyingly large amounts of people that I play too quietly. It's never particularly bothered me as I've never had to play alone in a large space, but my music teacher has got the idea into her head that it would be 'nice' for me to play a solo in a Cathedral (Lancaster) for a Cafod concert. I can play the piece fine, but no one will be able to hear me! Does anyone have any useful tips on playing louder very quickly?? I have tried practising with mutes and blowing as loud as I can but it just gives me a headache :frown:
  2. brassneck

brassneck Active Member

Do what some jazzers do ... mic. yourself up and get yourself amplfied! ;)
  3. KMJ Recordings

KMJ Recordings Supporting Member

The first pointer that you need to learn is the one about self belief ;) It really doesn't matter how large or small the hall is, if you believe that the person sat at the back can hear you then that's the first hurdle over with. It does feel a little lonely the first few times you do things like this, but approach it with confidence.

In terms of the physiology of playing loudly, if it really is giving you a headache (and you're not just being metaphorical), then that suggests that you're putting too much resistance at the mouthpiece end i.e. you may need to open your embouchure a little more.

The relative volume of your playing is related to how much air you're putting through the instrument. Remember that you need to support the increased air flow with your diaphragm at all times, There are no quick fixes - things like shoving tea towels down your bell and so on can potentially be detrimental to your sound and that (sorry to all the technical wizards out there) is the foundation of a brass band IMO ;)