Any of you tMPers a GRAPHIC DESIGNER??

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Rambo Chick, Apr 5, 2010.

1. Rambo Chick

Rambo Chick Member

Hi there

I am trying to find out about graphic design and where better than from someone who actually does it. ( I am searching other avenues as well) SOOOO.... if anyone is on here who is in Graphic Design or a similar field, I'd love to hear from you. A bit about what you do and what the job is like. :confused:

Thank you in advance.
  2. still learnin

still learnin Member

I'm not a graphic designer but I have been working with them for quite a while now in two different industries. In the past I was in consumer goods marketing. Leading up to an advertising campaign I would brief an agency on specific objectives that I wanted to achieve for my brands. The agency would go away and think about it and then come back to present their ideas to me. A lot of the messages would be created by a graphic designer who would listen to the verbal idea and turn it into an illustration that would leave a clear message in the mind of a potential consumer.

Part of my current role involves managing teams of people who bid for new work from potential clients. The client will ask all of the companies that are bidding for his business a range of question to help him/her decide who is best able to meet his/her needs. Sometimes the answer to a single question may take 2000 words (and there can be hundreds of questions during a bid that may last for three years) which is a bit dry and may lack impact impact. Our graphic designers are briefed to create pictures, flow charts, graphs or diagrams to grab the readers attention and summarise particularly important points that will clearly show how the idea that we are communicating will look or work. The GD will try to differentiate my company from our competitors