Anti Virus Software

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Seedhouse, Apr 24, 2005.

1. Seedhouse

Seedhouse Active Member

My (pathetic!) computer has recently come under a barrage of viruses off the Internet, and my ('95 edition) of Norton Anti virus, isn't detecting them at all. Can anyone recommend any free av software on t'internet that I could get? I'm trying to get it all sorted before my Dad has chance to find them and blame me :confused:
  2. Naomi McFadyen

Naomi McFadyen New Member

AVG AntiVirus...

Put it in google... get on the site... there's a free download....
  3. Kaspersky

As someone who's worked as a computer technician, I would definitely NOT recommend getting the latest version of Norton. Some software that has gotten good reviews are:

You will have to pay for them (that's typical) but they do the job. If your computer is already heavily infected, you may have trouble installing anything or doing any troubleshooting on your machine. Your only recourse may be to pull out your harddrive, install it in another machine, and scan that harddrive from the other machine. Then put the harddrive back in your machine. Install the software and scan again. Of course, if you don't have another machine, you may need to persuade a friend to borrow theirs--which may be difficult if he/she knows your harddrive is infected with viruses! But as long as you don't boot from that harddrive, or try to open any files on it, it will not affect the other machine.

But from now on, you should definitely be careful what email attachments you open, and what files you download. It's estimated that 40% of files downloaded from P2P networking programs like Kazaa, Limewire, etc. contain viruses. So if you use any of those programs, definitely have a current antivirus software, with definitions always up to date to scan those downloaded files.