Amington Band - Situations vacant

Discussion in 'Recruitment Corner' started by wez.k, Apr 19, 2006.

1. wez.k

wez.k Member

Edit: For current vacancies and contact details, please see most recent posts

Amington Band have a long history, and had a spell in the Championship section in the early Nineties. Sadly they suffered a catastrophic loss of players in the mid-nineties and like many bands have struggled to survive since then.

The band have a well appointed bandroom, which is located in Tamworth, about 10 mins from the M42, and rehearse on Mondays and Wednesdays from 19:30 to 21:30. We welcome young players and the band includes a number of youngsters who have been taught by members of the band.

I have been working with them since 1998, and we have gradually raised the standards and gained more players as we have moved on. I am fully committed to working with them for as long as they want me, and believe that by doing so, I am giving something back to the movement which has given me so much pleasure over the years.

Now the exciting bit!

This September Amington Band will be joining bands from all over the country to compete in the 4th section National Finals in Harrogate. Amington Band came second at the 'Midlands Regionals' in March out of a total of 24 bands!

Here is what '4barsrest' had to say:

"Joining them at Harrogate will be the Amington Band who produced perhaps a bit of a shock by claiming the runners up place. We say that because they were making their comeback to the contest this year after missing last year, but playing off the number 9 draw they produced a very neat and tidy account that benefited from intelligent direction from the podium and a group of very solid and confident soloists."

Inevitably, the band had some help from a couple of deps in the Area contest, but I believe that if we are to succeed at Harrogate, we need these seats filled as soon as possible by committed players who will join us and help to take the band forward.