Am I to old?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by shezza, Dec 1, 2010.

1. shezza

shezza New Member

Hello, all I am a musician and have been playing guitar and bass for many years,
    more recently I have swiched to a Yamaha WX5 which does not require much of a technique to blow ect. But I would really like to learn the trumpet but at the age of sixty do you think that I am to old? I will not be offended at you blunt replies.............Pete.

2. AmandaD

AmandaD Member

Hi

No way. We had an open day in May this year and a retired gentleman came along for 'a coffee and to listen to the band' (his words) and he left with a trombone, with the promise of some lessons.

He had some lessons with us, and joined our B band in September and has recently played his first concert with them. He loves playing his trombone.

If you want to do it, go for it !!!, you won't have the longest playing career in history, but you could have alot of fun.

Amanda.x.

3. DublinBass

DublinBass Supporting Member

Never too old!!
    Just keep in mind (especially since it sounds like you are already a musician), that progress may not always come in the leaps and bounds you like (e.g. your mind might be ahead of your chops). But if you really want to do it, I'm sure you'll make it happen!

4. Getzonica

Getzonica Active Member

No way! You're not too old! If you want to learn trumpet - just go for it!

5. GordonJames

GordonJames New Member

Never too old....I'm 75 and returned to playing after 40 year break this year....I play 2nd cornet in4th Section Band..............get a good tutor! you will be suprised how much you can learn

6. MoominDave

MoominDave Well-Known Member

Never too old, I agree. There was a chap on the trombone forum some time back who took up trombone, his first musical instrument, at the age of 79 on the advice of his doctor, who thought it could help work against his advanced lung disease.