...all the flowers of the mountain...

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by MajorMorgan, May 28, 2004.

1. MajorMorgan

MajorMorgan Member

Apologies if this information already accompanies the test-piece announcement in the Bandsman. I haven't read it!

Being a geeky English teacher, I was intrigued by the title of Michael Ball's national finals commission - the strange punctuation and lack of capitals suggest it's a quote.

So I type it into Google and lo and behold:

I will build my love a tower,
    By yon clear crystal fountain,
    And on it I will pile,
    All the flowers of the mountain.
    Will you go, lassie, go?

Now I may be completely wrong here, but it's the old Scottish tune 'The Wild Mountain Thyme' no less. Am I right? Does the Bandsman article elucidate at all? If so, do you think the piece will be thematically based around this lovely old tune?

And surely this gives the Scottish bands an unfair advatage! :wink: Mind you, I suppose its only fair after the most English of all the English compsers was used last year!

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    punctuation
    English
    Bandsman
    title
    finals commission
  3. MartinT

MartinT Member

The Scots won't have a monopoly on this one, it was a favourite in English folk clubs back in the 1970s - guaranteed to get the crowd singing in 2- or 3-part harmony!

I hope I'll like whatever the composer has done to it.... :dunno

4. iggmeister

iggmeister Member

Just got the music through this week.

Seems it has been written about an Irish mountain just outside Dublin near where Michael Ball lives. I think it is a mountain which he can see out of his window, (might be wrong).

It has been commissioned by the BBC as part of a series of works by Michael Ball. The score says it lasts circa 13 minutes.