Airways diseases

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by buzina, Jan 20, 2005.

1. buzina

buzina New Member

Hi forum,
    I wonder if there is a correlation between playing a brass or woodwind instrument and the incidence of airways diseases like asthma, chronic rhinosinusitis, chronic cough or the like. Especially interested in statistics about the incidence.
    Walter

2. Bex_Euph

Bex_Euph Member

I had asthma quite badly when I was little but when I started playing it went. The doctor said that it was because i was steadying out my breathing through my playing.

I have heard of quite a few people who have said that playing a brass instrument really helps.

Saying that though Ive got glandular fever at the moment and it isnt going away playing really aggrevates it and makes it harder to shift.

3. Chunky

Chunky Active Member

Hi Walter

I can confirm that playing a brass instrument improves my asthmatic condition.

I suffered as a child quite severly until I started playing a brass instrument. Brass was not my original I choice, I wanted to play clarinet, but was advised that that would not help my asthma.

The asthma virtually disappeared, despite smoking, until I stopped playing and then it when dramatically down hill.

After a few years I started playing again and the asthma although not completely disappeared is under control and causes me little or no problem.

The doctors confirmed that playing would help. This is also borne out by the fact my sister and my wife, both had similar patterns as to when they were or were not playing.

PS: One aside, when I gave up smoking my asthma deteriorated for a short while!!

4. brasscrest

brasscrest Active Member

However, you can also cause problems with infectious disease if you're not careful - see this thread: http://www.themouthpiece.com/vb/showthread.php?t=11364