Air-vairies

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by Ditchda, Jan 2, 2009.

1. Ditchda

Ditchda New Member

Right, I'm getting desperate- what's the easiest air-vairie anyone can think of that can be played on trombone? So long as it's in Eb, Bb, tenor clef or bass clef I can read it fine.

2. Hells Bones

Hells Bones Active Member

Easy? difficult one.

What have you tried and what level are you at?

3. Ditchda

Ditchda New Member

Well... I had a go at 'in cellar cool' and that just threw me because i'm an appalling sight reader and I didn't know the tune. I've done 'Barnacle Bill the Sailor' on my bass which is great but I'm not quite there with the fourth variation. I'm sort of grade six-ish standard...

4. Steve

Steve Active Member

What is this Air Varie intended for. Im no repertoire expert but why does it have to be air varie and what are you intending on using it for? Showing off / Band Concert / Recital / Orchestral audition?? Makes a big difference.

5. Kiz7

Kiz7 Member

I agree with Steve - it does make a big difference what you need the piece for and personally I would much prefer trombonists to steer clear of air varies in preferance to the other fab repertoire available BUT you asked about air varies so you obviously need an air varie!

The very first air varie my daughter played on trombone was "the happy farmer" when she was 9 and had been playing for around 9 months. The next one she did was about 18 months ago when she was 10 and G6, she played "Long, long ago" . The last air vaire she played was at a competition in May 2008 where she played my arrangement of The Harmonious Blacksmith.

Any of the H Round air varies are fine for about G6 standard - even if they are a bit dull!

Hope that helps.

Last edited: Jan 3, 2009
  6. Ditchda

Ditchda New Member

Air-varie competition, mate. Slightly unavoidable :S

Ta muchly, I will give them a look :)

7. Di

Di Active Member