Accrington and Rossendale College - Band Studies no more!

Discussion in 'Bandroom News - User Submitted' started by Alan Fernie, Dec 6, 2006.

1. Alan Fernie

Alan Fernie Member

This weekend coming sees the sad demise of the band studies course at Accrington and Rossendale College. I can't begin to explain or understand the complex logistical and financial reasons why it's all grinding to a halt, but it is a tradegy.

I've been the arranging tutor for the last 4 years, and it's been an absolutely brilliant experience. I feel I've learned so much about my own writing in trying to explain what I do to the students (I'm self taught!), and I hope that I've tried to get things over as best as I can.

The very best thing being involved in this has been working with all kinds of extraordinary band people, from all over the UK and beyond. I've met and got to know some remarkable characters among the students and staff, and their friendship will be valued by me for years to come - yes, even you, Clive!!!!

I'd like to thank Richard Evans for asking me to do this job, and a rather backward thanks to Darroll, for emigrating and freeing the job up!! We're having a final Christmas "do" in the Cobblers in Rawtenstall on Saturday evening, where I'm looking forward to seeing a few old friends. Thanks to all the students who endured my hugely disorganised and panic stricken lectures - hope my treading water wasn't too obvious!!

ps - Anyone needing an arrranging tutor??!!?? I'm now kind of out of a job!

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    Accrington and Rossendale College - Band Studies
    Accrington and Rossendale College
    students
    Rossendale College - Band
    band studies course
  3. flashbarry

flashbarry Member