A (somewhat belated) introduction....

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Thirteen Ball, Apr 13, 2011.

1. Thirteen Ball

Thirteen Ball Active Member

I’ve realised that I’ve never actually done this, in the whole time that I’ve been a member here. So, since I'm now up over 3500 posts, I thought it might be worthwhile adding a little detail about myself for anyone I’ve not met in person.

My name’s Andi Cook. I started playing Eb bass with YBS Junior band in early 2001 under the baton of Stuart Derrick, mainly because I was dating one of the front row cornets and quickly became bored with hanging around at gigs. As with all things, neither relationship could last forever, but thankfully my love of banding survived both break-ups.

I moved to Yorkshire Co-op band three weeks before the 2004 areas on 2nd Eb, and immediately loved the band and the people. The jump from non-contesting to 1st section was a ‘sink or swim’ moment in my banding career and thankfully, due the help of the players around me, (particularly Andy ‘Belfast Barman’ Stephenson and the late, great Adie Davidson) and the patience of the MD (one John ‘JR’ Roberts) I just about doggy-paddled my way into the section, moving from Eb bass to BB after the grand shield. To this day, it’s still where I spent the happiest times of my banding life so far, and where I made some of my closest friends. Plus the 2005 NZ tour is quite the most amazing adventure I've ever been a part of.

I eventually left Yorkshire co-op in Early 2010, aiming to take a break from playing – whereupon I was summarily press-ganged into doing the areas for Frickley and South Elmsall by an old mate, name of Dave ‘Valvecap’ Nichols. After a subsequent break in playing, I took up my current position on the bass section at Wakefield Metropolitan band just before Pontins 2010.