4BR First Section Bashing

Discussion in 'The Adjudicators' Comments' started by 4thmandown, Mar 19, 2011.

1. 4thmandown

4thmandown Member

Why is 4BR so down on First Section Bands?

All I've read so far is how badly the bands are doing on Carnival Romain, with the implication that it is disappointing given that these are "aspiring" Championship Section Bands.

My argument would be that far from that, the test piece is a suitable choice, which thus far has clearly differentiated between the bands. Isn't that the idea?

My other point is that gaining First Section status is one hell of an achievement for many bands. Achieving and then retaining Championship Section status is a whole different ball game for what is to many people just a hobby. Is it a failure when the band doesn't meet that "aspiring" label, or is it the best that that group of players could achieve?

As a teacher I encourage my pupils to do the best that they possibly can, and I do my level best to help them achieve that. I always say "if you have made your best effort and can be true to yourself, then no-one can ask for anything more". Why should banding be any different?

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    First Section
    hardest test piece
    piece wasnt
    Section players
  3. The way i see it $BR are only giving a personal opinion in the same way we all do.
    I know three have been some not so clever performances as well as some that stood out well in teh 1st section.

the pint is that every band put in a lot of effort,turned up adn gave it their best shot. For that they should all be applauded not stccked with comments of how poor the standard is.

Agree with your teacher's comments, we certainly could not have given more on the day adn as long as everyone gave their best then the result is just man's opinion.

4. Bayerd

Bayerd Active Member