10 piece brass band/group- instrumentation

Discussion in 'The Rehearsal Room' started by dontmaketimangry, Jun 23, 2006.

1. dontmaketimangry

dontmaketimangry New Member

Hey everybody,
    When I eventually get time, I would like to do some arranging for brass, so does anyone know if there is standard instrumentation for a 10 piece brass band/group? I'm guessing there are variations.
    Thanks
    Tim

2. theMouthPiece Related Searches

Find more discussions like this one
    ThanksTim
    piece brass band
    group- instrumentation
    standard instrumentation
    time
  3. dontmaketimangry

I hope I posted this in the correct forum? I'm fairly new to this

4. PeterBale

PeterBale Moderator Staff Member

I think you'll get a better response in Rehearsal Room, so I've moved it for you ;)

5. TIMBONE

TIMBONE Active Member

I have never written for 10 piece, but as far as I remember, it is 4 Bb Cornets, (2 1st, 1 2nd & 1 3rd), Tenor Horn, Euphonium, 3 Trombones, (2 Tenor & 1 Bass), and Eb Bass.

6. Roger Thorne

Roger Thorne Active Member

When you do find the time there's an endless supply of free manuscript paper available through tMP. We also supply the 'standard' ten piece template - follow link below:

http://www.themouthpiece.com/vb/showthread.php?t=20686

;)

Last edited: Jun 24, 2006
  7. Bass Trumpet

Bass Trumpet Active Member

It really depends on who you are writing for. A standard 10-piece group is considered to be 4 trumpets, horn, 4 trombones and tuba. This came about as a result of works commissioned by the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble in the 1960's and carried on by London Brass today. There are a few variations on this, for example using a euphonium in place of 3rd trombone, or using piccolo trumpet on top, or flugel instead of 4th trumpet etc.